University of Kent

Prevent Steering Group

Terms of Reference and Membership 2019/20

The University of Kent's Prevent Steering Group is responsible for overseeing the University's response to its obligations under the 2015 Counter Terrorism and Security Act. It will exchange information and meet as necessary, in particular to approve the terms of assessments and reports required by OfS and other relevant bodies.

The Prevent Steering Group full membership is as follows. In general, however, attendance at meetings will be required only from those members most concerned with the issues under discussion. Members can also send deputies if they are unable to attend. The Prevent Steering Group will meet two-three times during an Academic year, with an option to meet or discuss via email correspondence on an ad-hoc basis as and when needed.

Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Education and Student Experience - Chair David Powell, OVC Policy Advisor – Prevent Lead Keith Lampard, Secretary to Council, Council Secretariat Jess Sutherland, PA to Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education) and Prevent Officer Posie Bogan, Director of Corporate Communications Lucy Foley, Head of Student Support & Wellbeing Sian Lewis-Anthony, Senior Lecturer in Law, Kent Law School Peter Hydon, Head of School for Mathematics, Statistics and Actuarial Science Emily Window, VP Student Engagement, Kent Union Jonathan Ako, Campaigns Manager, Kent Union Stephen Laird, University Chaplain and Honorary Lecturer Mark Arnold, Head of Security, Estates Department Scott Wildman, Director for the Centre for Higher and Degree Apprenticeships